danaxton.blogg.se

Saturday warrior soundtrack
Saturday warrior soundtrack







These things are very much a part of culture and are still topics of "Mormon films"today. Big families, a wayward child, coping with death, missionary life, Dear John's, wedding plans, peer pressure, finding "the one," and pre-earth life. Huh? What's the difference? Is it Mormonism that we are embarrassed to have depicted in a musical? Is it because it's so dear to us? Or are we just embarrassed about our own culture? Because let's face it, Saturday's Warrior does a pretty good job of showing different aspects of Mormon culture as well as some of the difficulties and challenges we face in life.

SATURDAY WARRIOR SOUNDTRACK MOVIE

I've never seen the movie or the play so perhaps I shouldn't pass judgement, but man those songs were terrible and totally cheesy! Yet the same friends who were making fun of Saturday's Warrior said they absolutely LOVED Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. On the way home from Logan on Saturday my friends were listening to the soundtrack to Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. To tell the absolute truth, I actually kind of liked a lot of the songs, especially when compared to other cheesy musicals, which brings me to another observation. I thought maybe no one likes them because they're really catchy and get stuck in your head (in fact I still have them stuck in my head and I watched it on Sunday). They always bust out in song at random times."Īnother observation I made was that everyone made fun of the songs, yet they all knew every word of them. For instance, my roommate made fun of the scene where Julie is reading her letter from Wally and starts singing, by saying in a very sarcastic tone, "ya, because I always sing while reading letters." At that point I turned to her and said, "Are you kidding me? That's what they do in every musical. Why do members of the church hate this movie SO much? I'll admit the movie is totally cheesy and bad, but in my opinion so is every other musical. My roommates also took every opportunity to make fun of the movie. For instance, one of his roommates walked in halfway through the movie and immediately said, "What are you doing? That's my VCR you're playing that on!" Another of his roommates walked in and started belting the songs (that was the nicest response I got, although who knows if he was being sardonic or not). While watching it at my brothers place with some of my friends (who assured me that they were only watching it with me to keep me company and to be good friends) I witnessed a lot of negativity towards the film. He said yes but it was obvious he was a little embarrassed about it. However, I don't have a VCR in my apartment so I had to ask my brother if I could watch it at his. Also, I hoped to watch it in the safe, privacy of my own apartment, assured that no one would walk in on me watching it. When I told my roommates I was watching Saturday's Warrior I immediately found myself having to quickly explain that it was for a class (implying that there was no way I would choose to watch it on my own). What most intrigued me was how aggressively opposed to the movie EVERYONE was. I recently watched the Mormon musical Saturday's Warrior for the first time in probably 10 years and I must say it was a very interesting experience.







Saturday warrior soundtrack